Introducing my First Small, Beautiful Book

I did not want the year to end without doing this! It’s been trembling on the edge of emergence for a while.

Over the past year or so, while I’ve been creating the work on this blog, I’ve also been working away at a number of other projects. This is the first one I’d like to share with you, a small, beautiful book called “We Are Islands” that I created as a new way to share my work. If you love to hold books in your hands, enjoy the rustle of the pages, like to linger on individual pages whenever you want, this is for you. Presenting:

It is a collection of paintings and poems that began with the colorful volcanic landscapes I passed through on a sailboat voyage through the Azores and Canaries. The paintings that grew out of what I saw were created later, during a period of pause and reflection back in Canada. The poems were created in response to the paintings and became another way of sharing my thoughts. Each pair of paintings and poems responds to and builds on the other, as they do here on my blog.

Now you can buy your own copy in “my” bookstore on Blurb and hold the paintings and poems in your hand. I hope you will enjoy this book!

Click here to see and buy it.

10 responses to “Introducing my First Small, Beautiful Book

  1. I love the way you say the book was ‘trembling on the edge of emergence’ Margaret, and I’m glad it has emerged! Congratulations 🙂

  2. Congratulations Margaret !!!
    This island will be forever grateful that your gentle soul has been a part of my life for the last eight years.
    Pretty sure this book will need to find a home close to my Margaret Mair painting. It only seems right.

    • Thank you, Ellen. I am forever grateful for your friendship and so glad we met! The thought of you enjoying the book and painting brings a warm feeling to my heart.

  3. Can’t wait to receive this, Margaret! Congratulations on this grand accomplishment. Your gentle words are a balm to this mermaid’s heart and I often hug them close as I slip into sleep at night. I’m so proud of you!

    • Thank you so much, Mer! I’ve missed you, and I’m very pleased that any words of mine could be a comfort to you.

  4. What a glorious event on this last day of the year. It will be ordered as soon as I can receive mail at home. Congratulations dear friend, you have inspired me and countless others with your determination, your warm heart, thoughtful mind and adventurous spirit.

  5. Andrea beat me to it.. but i have to add that the phrase “trembling on the edge of emergence ” really struck a chord with me! what an appropriate thought for the new year.. I wonder how many people are walking around with a thought, or and idea, or a dream that is “trembling on the edge… ” just waiting for the slightest nudge to give it life… best wishes for the new year.. hopefully some more sailing stories? jt

Leave a Reply

