Let Me Out!

In the Box, M. Mair, original art

In the Box, Margaret Mair, original art

Let me out.
I don’t belong
In the confines
Of this small space.
I have legs to stand on,
Arms to lift with,
Hands to work with,
A voice to speak;
Do not hold me dumb,
Presume me deaf,
Assume me weak.
Do not enclose me
In your glassy womb
Held motionless,
Blank face hidden.
Let me out!
I grow tired
Of these walls
And will be released.
Let me out –
I will thrust myself
Into your world
Now
I will be me.

Written by Margaret Mair
Picture, original art by Margaret Mair

6 responses to “Let Me Out!

  1. Do you want to get out of your boat? I thought you loved being in your boat. I know you love doing art work and writing poems and of course, I love seeing the art and reading the words.

  2. Keep writing, Margaret, and your art is unique so continue with it.

  3. I can feel such frustration in this poem Margaret – I really feel the need to break out and break free.

Leave a Reply

