Leave Me (Alone)

Leave Me (Lef Me), Margaret Mair, Original art

Leave Me (Lef Me), Margaret Mair, Original art

 

Yes, I am alone.
You think
I’m beautiful?
But you
Have no right
To think
Of me.
Leave me
Alone
And unharmed
As others do.
I want to be
Solitary
In this crowd
Of strangers.
I choose to look
Haughty,
Strong and darkly
Independent.
I must appear
Hard and angry
From the soul out.
So when they look
These people
Cannot see
Past my mask,
Cannot imagine
What’s
Under my skin,
Cannot feel
My fear,
My souvenir
Of that stranger,
That one
Unexpected stranger
Who meant me
Harm.
 

 
Written by Margaret Mair
Painting, original art by Margaret Mair
 
Leave a Reply

