Contemplation

Margaret Mair, Between Earth and Sky, Original Painting

Margaret Mair, Between Earth and Sky, Original Painting

Spring is a busy time for me. We are getting our boat ready to sail, and the work spreads into and occupies all the time available. As time runs shorter other things are pushed aside. By the time we are ready to leave our winter resting place I am reminding myself that it’s all worth the time and effort.

The reward for all the work? Time spent on the water, reaching and exploring new places, seeing new things that will become part of my life and my work.

As happened with this painting.

We were in the Canaries, where volcanic rocks are rich with color, when I saw her – a young woman sitting, waiting, on a flat rock by the sea. Later I took what I had seen, and mixed in my own feelings about waiting, about being alone, about being by the sea…

We all need a place to breathe, a place where we can simply be ourselves. I breathe best by the water, or on it – in a place between the earth and the sky where the water stretches out before me, the sky arches high overhead, and the air moves freely.

Here I can think my own thoughts, dream my own dreams, contemplate and explore.

Here I feel in tune with the world. I can meditate with the sounds of water all around me, feeling the rhythm of the waves, the rhythms that give us life – and many other creatures too. I can feel the wave-beat in my body.

And I remind myself that a rock by the sea feels solid, as the earth seems solid. And yet the waves moving against it are washing that rock away. They are taking their time, doing their work patiently, whether we are there or not.

I think: we build our lives as if the foundation we have laid for them were as solid as that rock feels. Yet life itself, moving in its own rhythm, constantly changes us.

Rock slowly becomes part of the sea – and we, do we become part of the wider world around us?

4 responses to “Contemplation

  1. Oh dearheart–what an evocative, word & image rich post. Twice,while reading, I just closed my eyes and felt your words and memories they stirred. For a few brief moments, I was back on my favorite of our fleet of sail boats through the years, Pequod. Thank you for that–and for this too:
    “…Yet life itself, moving in its own rhythm, constantly changes us….”
    Mostly, thank you for being. ♥♥

  2. I remember sitting on rocks on the coast of Maine and meditating. I hadn’t had much experience with meditation before that, but I suddenly could feel the wave-beat in my body and the rhythm of life that I shared with all other living beings. I wish I lived closer to the shore, so perhaps your boat could pull into a nearby marina and we could sit and meditate together. And visit, of course.

    • What a beautiful picture and a lovely thought, Linda. I’ll hold on to it until one day it can come true – or something very close to it.

Leave a Reply

