ReSparked!

Margaret Mair, What Might Have Been, Version 2, Original Art

Margaret Mair, What Might Have Been, Version 2, Original Art

Regular readers (or anyone who has been looking through what I’ve written here) will have seen the painting I created for Spark 16. By now I’ve been looking at it and living with it for a little while, and working on it occasionally. The differences between what you saw then and what you see now, here, tells you a little bit about the way I work.

It starts with my thoughts, and my imagination. In the beginning I speak to (or with) the picture I am creating; but in the end I am not satisfied unless it speaks to me.

I am inspired (or Sparked), and so I begin. I think, I sketch, I think some more, I dream a little, I put paint on canvas. The picture begins to take shape.

Finally there comes a point at which I think it looks almost ready. It’s something like what I want to say, has been touched by the ideas that have been floating around in my mind. Then I know it’s time to put it aside, look at it, and let it find its voice. I need to give it time to speak to me.

Sometimes it speaks instantly, and I leave it as it is. Other times the voice is hesitant, and I need to coax it into speaking, find a way to bring out what it is on the verge of saying to me. Sometimes I succeed; other times I put it aside again.

First there is the Spark. Then the ReSpark.

Above, the ReSpark of what began with this:

Margaret Mair, What Might Have Been, Version 1, Original Art

Margaret Mair, What Might Have Been, Version 1, Original Art

I hope it speaks to you.

2 responses to “ReSparked!

  1. So interesting Margaret. My work develops in similar ways.
    The richness on the woman’s side is now subtly evident in version 2

    • I’m not surprised that your work develops in similar ways, Sarah – it’s thoughtful. I’m glad the difference you see is subtle…

Leave a Reply

