Summer Notes, 1 – Discovering Georgia O’Keeffe

Georgia O'Keeffe, marble sculpture by Gaston Lachaise, 1927, Metropolitan Museum of Art

Georgia O'Keeffe, marble sculpture by Gaston Lachaise, 1927, Metropolitan Museum of Art

I’m not sure when I first discovered Georgia O’Keeffe’s paintings.  I do remember finding a book full of her work in the art section of my favorite bookstore at the time – Starlight Books in Newmarket, Ontario.  It was a friendly place, a place where I could take my time and work my way through the art section, looking for the best used art books I could find there.  The Georgia O’Keeffe book was one of those.

I was enthralled.  I fell in love with the way she used color and shape and light and shade.  Even in those reproductions I could feel that her paintings had a life and a presence of their own.

I hope you’ll enjoy her work too, as it’s presented here – it’s just a taste:

Leave a Reply

