The Importance of Being Curious

They say that curiosity killed the cat.  Whoever they were, they were probably hiding something!  Curiosity is the thing that keep us alive, that makes us ask questions and helps us learn.

There is a beautiful painting I am very curious about.  I think about it often.  I’m not sure whether it’s about man’s relationship with nature, about a couple’s relationship with each other, about being cut off from roots or finding them, about losing paradise.  It could be about any of these.  It could be about all of these.  Because I am curious about it, I think about it from time to time. I go back to visit it, looking for what I might have missed.  It is complex.  Looking at it, I find new things and think new thoughts.

That painting also makes me think about how important it is both to create curiosity and to be curious.

What would the world be like if we never wondered?  What do we miss when we do not stop to look at what is in front of us?

*****

MMair_NaturesChild

Nature's Child

2 responses to “The Importance of Being Curious

  1. Now I’m curious about the picture! Thought perhaps To Prince Edward Island by Alex Colville…

    Yes I agree that creating curiousity, and developing it in all facets of creativity, makes both the process and the product richer.

    • Margaret Mair

      It could have been that painting, Sarah, but it isn’t – and I really can’t figure out how to describe in words the painting I’m talking about, or I would. I’ve looked for it on the internet, and if I ever find it there I’ll post a link. In the meantime, next time I contemplate it I’ll think again about how to share it…

Leave a Reply

