Masks – Hiding Ourselves?

Who Am I?

I am not one born
I am born of many roots
That twist to shape me.

When I was in university I read Fanon’s Black Skin, White Masks.  Lately I’ve been thinking that you could equally well use the idea of White Skins, Black Masks to describe the way some people see their own identity.  And then I remembered the friend who learned that they had roots in a culture quite different from the one they believed all their forebears had come from.  And it set me to thinking about who we are, how we present ourselves, and the many ‘masks’ we wear throughout our lives.  This painting, Who Am I, is a part of my meditation on these ideas.

Leave a Reply

